European Territorial Cooperation programmes 2021-2027: consultation

Closes 27 Mar 2020

Opened 10 Jan 2020


European Territorial Cooperation (otherwise known as Interreg) programmes are EU funding programmes that give money to organisations from different countries to work together on a project.

These programmes cover different geographical areas and have different aims. Each of the projects funded by the programmes help the programme achieve its aims. The organisations doing the project must normally be from the geographical area covered by the programme.

Non- EU countries also take part in these programmes. 

Scotland is currently part of 7 European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) programmes:

Why We Are Consulting

The current European Territorial Cooperation  programmes run from 2014-2020. The new programmes, which will run from 2021-2027, are now starting to be designed. 

The Scottish Government is therefore keen to inform our own thinking on the design of the future programmes, so that we can work together with partner countries in the programmes to design something which meets our shared needs. 

For more information:   

Read the consultation paper.

Give us your views


  • Arts, Culture and Sport
  • Business, Industry and Innovation
  • Communities and Third Sector
  • Energy
  • Environment and Climate Change
  • Public Sector
  • Health and Social Care
  • International